RSS

Stepping out in blind faith

16 Dec

Martin Luther King once said that “faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase”

This is what I wanna share about: how we exercise faith.

Keeping with the analogy, sometimes I step out onto the step completely confident in the knowledge that I’ll be safe. This is often at times when I feel my strongest in Christ. Because I feel unmoved or unshaken by the world and his wife.

Then at other times I step out but have a safety harness. This is what gets me. I always think how far am I disobeying God by having a safety harness or a back up plan. Does this mean I am not trusting Him to come through, is it a sign that my faith isn’t strong enough to believe Him to provide all things.

Recently I’ve gone through both; a time when I dived out blindfolded on God’s word, and another time when I carried a first aid kit, safety harness and a helmet, basically I wanted my own reassurance. This was a time when it seemed I wasn’t exactly sure who’s voice I was hearing.

Believe it or not, we sometimes remix the voice of the Lord with our own. I for one have done this recently. Only for God to give me a ground breaking revelation.

Basically, I wanted something so bad, I was so sure God had placed it in my life. However, it turns out I let my wanting it overshadow God’s voice. He was talking to me and I was hearing Him but I wasn’t truly listening. It seemed too good to be true, but being the ‘God-is-still-in-the-business-of-miracles’ kinda Christian I am, I attributed it to God and told myself that this was what He was talking to me about. I was praying for God to do His will, simply because it was in accordance with mine, the shoe fit and I was stomping on the runway.

So whilst I was thoroughly enjoying life in the spiritual fast lane (ie when things are going so well), I was presented with another ‘too-good-to-be-true’ option. However, I was upset, because I was enjoying the catwalk I didn’t want to have to make a choice that could jeopardise that, especially when I was so sure that the 1st thing was Godsent. Little did I know that with the 2nd thing, God providing me with a safety net. So after praying about it, God advised me to proceed with it, so there I was with 2 options but I slowly realised that I couldn’t walk 2 runways, little did I know what would happen.. To cut a long story short, the first runway collapsed and the show was over, my ‘dream’ was over and I was extremely saddened, especially because throughout it all I kept thinking ‘but I thought this was what God wanted for me’. But God was working in this because I realised that if He didn’t present me with the 2nd opportunity, or if I had once again remixed His voice, to declined the 2nd option, I’d have nothing.

I’m still undergoing this journey with God, as the 2nd thing had now taken a different, less anticipated turn. But what God revealed to me was that we really need to WANT to walk in His will for our lives, no matter where it takes us. As sometimes we truly think we are, but were so crowded with our own desires that we want to take the steering wheel from God and drive halfway, even if we honesty believe that Even when we are riding high or low, God still has our back. Cos when we are DOWN to nothing, God is UP to something, He is the master strategist!

Its just that God tries our faith so that we may try His faithfulness, because the book of Hebrews tells us He is forever faithful to us. So in every test and trial we must remember to stay faithful to God.

Spread the word, feed a spirit, encourage a soul!

Thanks for reading 😀

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Stepping out in blind faith

  1. Claud Williams

    March 23, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Great post.
    Your honestly provides an opportunity for others to learn. Keep it up!

     

Leave a Reply

 
