RSS

Standing (Part 1)

23 Jul

Hi guys,

I’ve been such a long time I even forgot I had this blog till I was updating my twitter profile and it re-entered my mind. I have so many words to share, so better now than never I guess. As I was typing this up it ended up being lonnnng as the Holy Spirit started to pour out, so I’ll post in chunks 🙂

So without further ado let me jump straight in. God has really been speaking to me about standing. Not the type of standing that just needs two feet, the type that needs your body, spirit and mind. Let me go on and add some contextual flavour. This word was born out of the need to encourage young-professional Christians standing in the workplace, encountering trails of different varieties and facing different attacks from the enemy.

Songs of Solomon 2:15 – ‘Take us the foxes, the little foxes, that spoil the vines: for our vines have tender grapes’ (KJV)

Of late, a few of my friends have been facing attacks from the enemy in their places of work and the Holy Spirit dropped this verse in my spirit to encourage them. Who would have known that this word would also encourage me both in the now and retrospectively. Everything now makes sense.

Resistance

God places you in the place He wants you to sow seeds and in doing so, those seeds can very often take root and flourish. The one thing He doesn’t always promise is that the ground will be fertile or people will be receptive to your sowing. Even when sent on your mission to sow that seed, others may not always be the recipient of that flower. Imagine sitting at home in your garden and someone walking in and scattering their seeds all over your lawn. Is it by force? Did you invite them in? who are you? Why are you disrupting the status quo? Did I tell you I want new flowers? These are the metaphorical types of questions people will ask you. Resistance is inevitable. Also think of the situation you’re facing now at work, perhaps God has sent you there for you to learn a lesson and for that seed to take root and blossom in your own life. Do you also need to learn a lesson?               

Impact

God can also send us to a place where He wants us to make an impact. When change occurs, God can bring us in to serve as a new benchmark in the company’s new season. Or He can raise us up from outside the pre-existing structures; this is the aspect that I received the word on and area I had to encourage most of my friends in. But now is the time for us Christians to change the status quo! The enemy knows the level and depth of your impact in advance and sends attacks to change that. Isn’t it funny how the devil can sometimes see your predestined purpose before you do! I often view an attack from the devil to be proof that I am in the right place at the right time doing the right thing.

Having done all

Ephesians 6:13 Therefore put on the full armour of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. (NIV)

More than anything in this season I have seen with my own eyes people who were able to fulfil the first part of the scripture ‘stand your ground’ but have failed (temporarily) at the second part ‘after you have done everything, to stand’. It’s easily to stand and by and large we are all able to do that. But what do you do after you’ve prayed, cried out to God, fasted, served others, praised, worshipped, repented etc and still things remain tough? This is where it’s easy to fail.

It’s EXTREMELY hard to stand on top of your standing. Being known to abide by certain principles in your workplace or social groups is one thing, but having to stand by them is another. Let me not call anybody out of their name, but when on a work training course in the States, people knew my beliefs and the type of lifestyle I chose to live (that was the having done all to stand) but a few of the people chose to re-question / observe / tempt me over those 2 weeks about them just to make sure I lived by my word (that was me standing). It was sad because a significant number of people who shared a different faith to mine came under the banner of one thing and stood for their religious beliefs, they were swept away by the winds of peer pressure. They initially had done all to stand, but were not able to keep standing.  This is not a look at me point, or even a scourge to other religious beliefs because we Christians also build our houses on sinking sand and we know what happens to those types of houses (Matt 7:24-27). It just so happens that I’m at a stage in my life & walk with Christ that I am able to live in a house built on our faithfully solid rock Jesus. Now the fact the social winds blew against them and they happened to fall was for a plethora of issues which I won’t go in to, but if you were to look from the outside in, it would appear that they were lukewarm towards their purported faith. But thinking about it, peer pressure was the vehicle the devil had used to rob them of the strength they had found in initially standing.

Numbers

Ecclesiastes 4:12 ‘though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken’ (NIV)

Standing is often harder when you’re doing it by yourself which is why the bible tells us that there is strength in numbers. This is why when standing alone as I and my friends have been, the enemy comes in to dig at your heels, and seeks to erode the very foundation we’re standing on. But just as easily as it is to take down one, it is also as crucial for use to do our part to allow God to use us and raise up even when alone. For the majority, if not all of my friends, like myself we are the only Christians in our teams etc and the attacks have been coming in like a flood. It’s cool though, God has lifted up a standard! But my point is that we should be even more tuned in to the work of God because He has placed us in such a position for a reason. We are the only Bible those people will read on a daily basis, the only glimpse of the heart of Jesus. So to let the devil cause you to abort the mission that God has already called possible is not only a shame, it also robs the incoming generation of the change our generation has been praying for!

Going back to numbers, when I was out in Chile the Holy Spirit dropped a serious word to me on how God uses us and the role of crowds & platforms (I may blog it later). But long story short, God is not a God of crowds, but rather He raises a person and gives them a platform. We all know and love the Proverb that tells us that a man’s gift makes room for him and brings him before great men.  And it is true. It is then the gift of God and the platform He has given them that brings in the crowds. So beware of the foxes sent by the devil to try and steal the very thing that God wants to use to build His platform in your workplace!

Stay tuned for part 2 – it gets juicer!

So let’s spread the word, feed a spirit, encourage a soul!

Tolz x

Twitter : @TolzThundercats

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Standing (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

 
